Thanksgiving

Thanksgiving

 

Thanksgiving is a day that we eat far too much (along with a libation or two) and after watching a great game we reflect on what we are grateful for. Comfortable pants and a soft couch come to mind initially. Of course, most importantly we are always grateful for our family, our friends and our good health but as a waterman, (my definition is a person passionate about being on the water, no matter what the venture) there is so much more to be thankful for. I’m not just talking about the paradise waters of Florida that I get to enjoy, but also the things that help us all enjoy our time on the water all the more.

 

I am certainly thankful for the Lifeproof case www.lifeproof.com on my iPad protecting it several times in just a few weeks from drowning in Sandy’s wrath or from the splashes from a recent trip to one of our local barrier islands. I know I’ll be purchasing one for my new iPhone, as I am sure without it the phone (and my savings account) would plummet to the depths of Tampa Bay. I am not only thankful for the products that protect our technology but also for the technology that makes our life on the water easier. With apps that give us tides, weather and navigation charts our phones have become an important part of planning our time on the water. I know I use mine for every trip on the water.

When the cell phone is on the water and doesn’t have a signal I am grateful for the reliability and dependency of hand-held VHF such as one of Icom America’s newest models such as the M92. It has a built in GPS that not only will give you your position but also can send an automatic distress signal with your position via DSC (digital selective calling) www.icomamerica.com. Should I have to use that DSC call on my VHF I am extremely thankful for the brave folks of the USCG that would respond and get me out of a bad situation and return me to the safety of land. They are always there and always ready to serve and protect.

I am especially thankful for the opportunity to photograph and write about the world of those passionate about the water and their time on it. I am thankful for being able to bring my discoveries and education to readers of on line ventures and several fine publications such as All At Sea (The photographs above are from an article of holiday gifts I wrote and shot for the December issue of All At Sea Southeast www.allatsea.net/southeast.) I thank you for taking the time to read this blog and I hope you gain some valuable information by doing so.